Bisbee Stair Climb 5K

After this weekend’s Cochise County Cycling Classic on Oct. 12, there’s another “extreme” fitness challenge in the county. It’s the Bisbee Stair Climb and the Ice Man competition.

The Stair Climb is a 5K run through Bisbee that goes up and down 1,034 stairs. It’s a cool event because it takes you through more than just Main Street. Many of Bisbee’s houses can’t be reached by car because they are built into the nooks and crannies of the Mule Mountains. As a result, the stairs are an important way to see parts of Bisbee you wouldn’t normally see. There’s more history on how the Stair Climb came to be at http://bisbee1000.org/about.htm.

A few years ago, I decided to enter the Ice Man competition. I wasn’t in great shape, but I thought, hey… how hard can it be? Turns out, it’s a killer!

I ran up 153 steps carrying a 5-lb. block of ice in a set of old fashioned ice tongs. You race against the clock, so I tried to haul myself and the ice as fast as I could.

I was practically wheezing by the time I got to the top. It felt like someone was sawing the back of my throat with a knife. My legs felt like overcooked linguine.

You may think I’m crazy, but I’m glad I did it. Yeah, I was in a little pain, but it only lasted a few minutes. I’m heading back next weekend to do the 5K. We’ll see about the Ice Man competition. It’s run after the 5K, so I will gauge how tired I am and go from there.

Have you run the Stair Climb or heard about it? Tell us your experiences! Just leave a comment below. See you at the race!

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Travel

Leave a Reply

