Bisbee Stair Climb: OMG!

Midway through the Bisbee Stair Climb last Saturday, I had one question.

Why was I doing this?!

In my younger days I was a bit of an athlete, and was even on the track team in high school (I was a walk-on to my college track team, too). I started as a sprinter and gradually started running longer distances. I even did a 10-miler in Philadelphia in the 90s.

I’ll be the first to admit, however, that I’m not in my best shape now. I’ve been in training, but I REALLY underestimated this race. Cynthia Conroy, the race’s organizer, said that it was a 5K that feels like a 10K. This is pretty accurate.

I was thinking I’d probably run this race in 12 minute miles, but I wasn’t accounting for the mountains of stairs I’d be climbing. I should have studied the results from last year. The overall winner ran about a 31-minute 5K. On a normal course, a 5K winner can finish in under 20 minutes. (Some even do these in 15 and 16 minutes!)

The stairs throughout the course weren’t just a few steps every once in a while. They were stacked up all over. Add to that the mile-high elevation, and this is ONE. TOUGH. COURSE!

The stairs are Bisbee’s sidewalks. People who live there walk up them every day. I’d hazard a guess that they’re in better shape than I am!

I and 1,100 other masochists tried the Stair Climb. Are you up for it? I’d advise starting your training now. In a month (after I recover), I’ll start training for ’09!

For a complete story, see the local paper, the Sierra Vista Herald/Bisbee Daily Review.

If you read my earlier post, I mentioned that I was going to do the Ice Man competition too. Heh, heh, heh. What was I thinking? I passed, of course!

Did you run? What did you think? Leave your comments below!

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Travel

Leave a Reply

