Beautiful things that adorn the world

“I like to walk amidst the beautiful things that adorn the world.”

George Santayana 

Doesn’t that quote just say it all? I love it. Those few words have often made me cast aside my chores and forget about the never-ending errands to take a walk through the beautifully forested Ramsey Canyon Preserve, a Nature Conservancy property, which is one of the most spectacularly beautiful areas in Arizona. 

Photo courtesy of the Sierra Vista Convention & Visitors Bureau

Photo courtesy of the Sierra Vista Convention & Visitors Bureau

The Preserve in Sierra Vista is over 6,000 feet in elevation, so it’s decidedly cooler. Plus, the spring-fed stream runs all year – sort of like nature’s own swamp cooler.  I’ve been there in all seasons and have never failed to see wildlife up close and personal. Deer stop and graze just feet from visitors; while cautious, they are not afraid since they’ve never been threatened by humans. 

Sierra Vista Convention & Visitors Bureau

Sierra Vista Convention & Visitors Bureau

And of course, the birds. That’s probably the most popular reason folks go to Ramsey Canyon Preserve.  I’ve seen nesting eagles and hummingbirds and zillions of other birds whose names I don’t know.  

Sometimes I’ve joined the docent-led hikes (on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at 9 a.m., March through October) and sometimes I’ve just strolled alone.  I’ve witnessed the change in seasons — which reminds me that autumn in the canyons is just around the corner.

While southeastern Arizona doesn’t get as much exposure in the press as other places for the “New England fall foliage-look,” it’s just as colorful. The riotous fall shades show up in the golden aspen, red maples and yellow cottonwoods, along with all the other hues of sycamores, ash and elm. I’ll let you know when the colors are at their prime.

Leave a comment

Filed under Birding, Travel

Leave a Reply

