Peace to Bisbee artist Rose Johnson

Rose Johnson, who painted Bisbee’s Peace wall, died in Jakarta, so says the Jakarta Post in a story published today.

A few years ago, I was lucky enough to be the highest bidder on a chair she painted for the chair auction held by the Bisbee Women’s Club. It’s a wonderful piece that shows her whimsy and talent.

Chair painted by Bisbee artist Rose Johnson

Chair painted by Bisbee artist Rose Johnson

This chair, titled “Night,” was one of two chairs she painted for the auction. The other was a daytime scene with a sun painted on the seat. I wish I had bought both!

Johnson also painted Bisbee’s Peace Wall and the lovely mural on the Jonquil Motel. You can read more about her at the Phoenix New Times blog.

She will be sorely missed in Bisbee and in all of Arizona. Rest in Peace, Rose Johnson.

2 Comments

Filed under Art

2 responses to “Peace to Bisbee artist Rose Johnson

  1. I am Rose Johnson’s older brother and just came across this article and would love to know more. I was at the Phoenix Ice House Memorial Service last summer – were you there too?
    I live in the UK so cannot get to the USA very much.
    Do you have any other photos of the chair or any other pieces of work Rose did?
    Please let me know
    Chris

  2. Hi Chris,

    I was Rose’s friend back in 1998-2000. We met at the Bisbee Grande pub and Rose had me over for tea a few times. She was my biggest artistic inspiration.

    I took the liberty of posting heaps of images of her work on her Facebook fan page here (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rose-Johnson/183885931666534). I once had a few great personal photos of me with Rose and Leo, but have since lost them.

    It would be great to meet you some day. I’d love to be able to share my memories with someone, since I’ve not talked with anyone about it since her passing. I even went to Arizona to try and find her a couple months before she died, but she was in Bali already.

    Friend me on Facebook!

    Take care,
    Andy Warstar

Leave a Reply

