Summer and the beauty of fresh veggies

Sweet corn: yum!

Sweet corn: yum! (c) Marc Sheffner via Flickr

I just came back from vacation visiting my family in southern Indiana. My parents live in the same house I grew up in, and I have fond memories of the summer days when Mom and I would go back to the garden for corn. I held the pan while she plucked the ears from their stalks. We’d take them in, clean off any silks left and heated the water. We’d put the corn in the boiling water and cook just until it was tender. Some nights I think I made an entire meal from corn. To this day, I relish the fresh, just-picked sweetness of an ear of corn.

So, when I opened my e-mail this week, I had good news waiting for me: Apple Annie’s says they’re opening today! I’m anxious to get some more of those fresh veggies. That’s the beauty of summer, and the beauty of eating local foods. When you’re in Cochise County, stop by any of the farms in and near Willcox to enjoy the lush gifts from the garden!

Here’s the scoop on Apple Annie’s:

The farm will open for the season on Wednesday, June 24. We will have already picked sweet corn, summer squash, green beans, hot house tomatoes, apricots and peaches. You-pick summer squash and green beans are also available.

Apple Annie’s Produce & Pumpkins will be open daily from 7 a.m.-5:30 p.m. For more information and directions please visit www.appleannies .com.

If you’re looking for a reason why you should eat locally, you might want to read In Defense of Food, by Michael Pollan. It makes a case for shopping at farmers markets and eating non-processed foods.

You’ll also find four farmers markets in Cochise County. Bisbee and Sierra Vista have long had farmers markets. Douglas and St. David started them just this year.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, Things to do

Leave a Reply

